Join us in our 65th Anniversary

Discover ‘Greatness of Spirit’: Celebrating 65 Years of the Ramon Magsaysay Award

Nov 11, 2023
10 min read

In commemoration of the 65th Anniversary of the Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) takes immense pride in presenting "Greatness of Spirit: Stories of Love, Courage, & Service," a publication of profound significance.

This remarkable Book Series spans approximately 2,500 pages, replete with condensed biographies, resplendent accolades, and enthralling anecdotes about the Magsaysay Awardees. It is further enriched with an opulent collection of over 1,500 photographs and more than 300 illustrations. Additionally, it bestows upon the reader inspirational "messages to the youth" from living Awardees, serving as beacons of wisdom and motivation.

The book launch took place on November 12, 2023, at The Constellation, Diamond Hotel Manila. The event was graced by a diverse audience, including over 30 Magsaysay Awardees, who had gathered in Manila for the 65th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Week. Notable guests from the education, business, development, and diplomatic sectors were also present.

The launch program featured live readings of Laureates’ messages to the youth and the premiere of the Greatness of Spirit Book Series trailer, providing a unique insight into this exceptional collection.

Anticipate with fervor the opportunity to secure your copy of this extraordinary publication, scheduled for its official release during the first quarter of 2024. It promises to embody inspiration and a treasure trove of knowledge for future generations.

A Unique Initiative

"Greatness of Spirit: Stories of Love, Courage, & Service" is a 7-volume literary masterpiece meticulously crafted to commemorate and share the profound narratives and wisdom of the Magsaysay Awardees, with the ultimate goal of igniting the spirits of future generations.

These remarkable individuals come from diverse fields such as entrepreneurship, nation-building, arts, journalism, music, banking, community building, poverty eradication, and rehabilitation. Their extraordinary vision, philosophy, and work have provided innovative solutions to the challenging problems faced by Asia.

In a world often shadowed by adversity, these Laureates emerge as beacons of inspiration. Through their words and deeds, they eloquently exemplify the boundless potential of human endeavor, serving as a resounding reminder that steadfast determination to enhance the world consistently conquers the trials and tribulations we encounter.


Timeless Stories Bridging Generations

“The book would be good for the soul. It’s also good for understanding the realities that we are confronting now and the realities we confronted in the past.” – Dr. Cynthia Bautista, Former Chair of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

Unlike the previous biographies that the Foundation has published, this book series distills the experiences of all 348 Awardees into a single compendium, framing their remarkable journeys within the intricate tapestry of challenges and issues spanning the decades.

Volumes 1 & 2: The first two volumes (1958-1967, 1968-1977) trace the Foundation's early years, the Award program’s development, and the diverse initial Asian recipients such as the Dalai Lama (1959, Tibet) and Mother Teresa (1962, India), establishing the Award's Asian identity.

Volume 3: The third volume covers the period of 1978-1987, marked by authoritarian rule and, eventually, the democratization of many developing countries. The featured Laureates in this volume are heroic champions of human rights, children's education, and technology.

Volume 4: The fourth volume tackles the transformative global era of 1988 to 1997, and the honored Laureates during that time demonstrated a wide array of activities and focused on their contributions to humanity.

Volume 5: The fifth volume explores 1998-2007, during which globalization stirred excitement and issues like poverty and inequality persisted. It highlights a diverse group of Laureates, including government officials, movement leaders, activists, journalists, and truth-tellers.

Volume 6: The sixth volume delves into 2008-2017, where many problems due to climate change emerged. In this decade, many Award recipients include environmentalists, scientists, photographers, journalists, and so on.

Volume 7: The seventh volume is about 2018 to the present. It demonstrated how greatness of spirit unfolded in the years before, during, and after the pandemic.

The narratives of Magsaysay Awardees serve as a unifying bridge between generations. They resonate with the older generation, evoking memories of their own past challenges and achievements. At the same time, these stories ignite the younger generation's passion to make a positive impact on society.

In a world that's constantly changing, these ageless stories highlight enduring values like empathy, compassion, and the pursuit of the common good. They not only bridge generations but also nurture a shared vision for a better future.

“There’s another side to the world and that side of the world is about people who faithfully continue to do the beautiful work that they’re doing to change for the better. There are all these beautiful stories and there’s one place where you can find them. If you’re a young person, by all means, there’s something for you here.” – Emily Abrera, Trustee of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

A Source of Inspiration and Hope

As RMAF celebrates the 65th anniversary of the Award, the Foundation reaffirms its unwavering dedication to preserving the remarkable legacies of the Magsaysay Awardees. This commitment takes concrete form in the transformation of the Ramon Magsaysay Center in Manila into Asia's preeminent Center for Inspiration and Hope. This comprehensive initiative involves the rejuvenation of its library and museum, alongside the creation of an innovation hub that is devoted to nurturing the future leaders of Asia.

Furthermore, this commitment extends to creating valuable knowledge products, such as the Greatness of Spirit Book Series, to ensure that the stories of the Laureates endure. This authoritative compendium beautifully encapsulates the journeys of Magsaysay Awardees from 1958 to 2023, offering a wellspring of inspiration and hope to all its readers.

“It helps inspire the reader and in fact, it gives hope to every reader that yes, in spite of all the odds, in spite of all the problems humanity faces, within our own communities, countries, or the entire globe, there’s hope because there’s a lot of people who work with Greatness of Spirit to be able to help improve lives.” – Dr. Cielito Habito, Trustee of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

How You Can Support

Join us in our mission to share these books with libraries and communities across Asia. Together, let's kindle hope and inspiration through the remarkable stories and causes championed by our laureates.

As we celebrate our 65th anniversary, you have the opportunity to make a significant impact by contributing Php 65,000. In return for your support, you will receive a complete set of the GOS book series. You can decide to add it to your personal collection or generously donate it to a school, library, or organization of your choosing.

To secure your set or if you have any inquiries, please don't hesitate to contact our dedicated marketing team at Your assistance will have a positive and lasting influence on countless lives. We express our gratitude for your involvement in this meaningful journey.