Join us in our 65th Anniversary

Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation Announces New Board of Trustees and Officers for 2024, Embracing Diversity and Global Leadership

Jan 16, 2024
10 min read

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) announces the appointment of its new Board of Trustees and the election of the Board’s new officers.

In a move towards greater diversity, six individuals joined the Foundation’s Board of Trustees, significantly bolstering the Foundation’s commitment to a comprehensive, global approach. Serving their first terms as Trustees are Gizela M. Gonzales-Montinola, a Filipino lawyer, and Guillermo M. Luz, a leading expert in business and disaster relief. Joining them are Josephine Lok, CEO of Mizuho Bank-Singapore; James Kondo, Chairperson of the International House of Japan; and Kotchakorn Vorrakhom, a landscape architect working to increase urban resilience in Southeast Asia. Amb. Delia D. Albert, one of the Philippines’ senior diplomats, returns to the Board for the first time since 2015.

For 2024, RMAF's Board of Trustees will be led by Cecilia L. Lazaro as Chairperson, Suzanne E. Siskel as Vice Chairman, Gizela M. Gonzalez-Montinola as the Treasurer. Carmencita P. Toledo has been reappointed as Board Secretary.

RMAF Chairperson Cecilia Lazaro shares, “It is an honor and a privilege to serve as Chairperson of one of Asia’s most revered organizations, the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation. Our role as Trustees is to be the stewards of greatness of spirit and transformative leadership as we look for innovative ways to broaden our reach and influence. It is also worth noting that this year, the Foundation has an all-female lineup of officers. I look forward to working with the Board closely in the Foundation’s mission of transforming Asia and inspiring the world.”

Cecilia L. Lazaro, a multi-awarded broadcast journalist, is a pioneer in broadcasting in Asia. She is the Founding President of Probe Productions and produced The Probe Team, the first Filipino investigative news magazine for television. Suzanne E. Siskel is the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of The Asia Foundation, a nonprofit international development organization committed to improving lives across Asia-Pacific. Gizela M. Gonzalez-Montinola is a lawyer and businesswoman who served on the boards of several Philippine corporations and non-profit organizations such as the Consuelo Madrigal Foundation and Caritas Manila.

"We are proud to announce the formation of our 2024 Board of Trustees, reflecting our commitment to diversity and inclusion,” RMAF President, Susan B. Afan shares. “Embracing diverse perspectives strengthens our organization, and with the new Board of Trustees, we are poised to take the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation to new horizons and further our impact in championing transformative leadership and greatness of spirit,” Afan continues.

The announcement of the 2024 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees is scheduled for August 31, 2024. The recipients will formally receive their certificates and medallions during the 66th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Presentation Ceremonies, which will take place on November 16, 2024 in Manila, Philippines.