Join us in our 65th Anniversary

Celebrating the 65th Anniversary

As the Ramon Magsaysay Award marks its 65th year in 2023, we continue to
celebrate those who embody Greatness of Spirit—inspiring tomorrow’s leaders

Asia’s premier prize and highest honor

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia. Since 1958, the Ramon Magsaysay Award has been bestowed upon over three hundred outstanding individuals and organizations whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most challenging problems of human development.

The 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

Rakshand, Korvi
A Bangladeshi who champions inclusive quality education and promotes a culture of active participation amongst his country's youths.
Lemos, Eugenio
A Timorese who safeguards the environment and indigenous culture of Timor-Leste, paving the way for a sustainable and independent food supply.
Coronel-Ferrer, Miriam
A Filipino peace negotiator who championed inclusivity and women's participation in peace-building.
R., Ravi Kannan
An Indian surgical oncologist who has revolutionized cancer treatment in Assam through people-centered and pro-poor programs.

Each year, transformative leaders working in Asia are added to the roster of distinguished Ramon Magsaysay Laureates


Quick facts on the
Ramon Magsaysay Awards

Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Rockefeller Brothers Fund

The trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) established the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation in 1957 to honor the memory and perpetuate the example of integrity in public service of Pres. Ramon Magsaysay.


The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958 to a Philippine-based organization and five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka.

22 Countries

Since 1958, the award has been given to individuals and organizations working in Asia—regardless of race, nationality, creed or gender—who address issues of human development in Asia with courage and creativity, and in doing so have made contributions which have transformed their societies for the better.
Republic Act No. 3676

Republic Act No. 3676

The Philippine Congress in 1959 made a gift of land to the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) equivalent in value to the original RBF grant. This is where the Ramon Magsaysay Center continues to reside today. In 1963, a subsequent legislation gave RMAF full tax exemption.

6 Categories

Until 2008, the award was given in each of the six fields of activity: Government Service; Public Service; Community Leadership; Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts; Peace and International Understanding; and Emergent Leadership.
Emergent Leadership

Emergent Leadership

The Ramon Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership is conferred to outstanding young individuals who are 40 years old or below, and to organizations not more than 10 years old that are engaged in exceptionally worthy work. It is supported by a grant from the Ford Foundation.

348 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

As of 2023, 322 individuals and 26 organizations from 22 countries across Asia have been elected to receive Asia’s premier prize and highest honor.
Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute (RMTLI)

Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute (RMTLI)

Created in 2009, RMTLI was established as a major program of the RMAF, to further expand the impact of the Ramon Magsaysay Award and the transformative work of the Magsaysay laureates

Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute

In 2009, the Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute (RMTLI) was established as a major program of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, to further expand the impact of the Ramon Magsaysay Award and the transformative work of Magsaysay laureates.
RMTLI presents an avenue for creative collaboration; a hub for sharing and connecting the solutions of Magsaysay Laureates across sectors and borders. So that more lives can become full and productive.

Sustainable Development Goals
The Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

Latest Happenings

News & Events

The Center

The Ramon Magsaysay Center:
An Asian Landmark

Three things stand out in the Ramon Magsaysay Center: discipline, elegance, and technique. There seems a unique union of ideology common among its creators, anchored in efficient planning, cost of building, and structural integrity. - BluPrint Magazine